Prefer to learn by video? Watch here.

The permissions feature was built to provide sales teams with options for ensuring privacy and maintaining boundaries. Setting permissions allows team administrators to define what their team members can see and edit to keep certain data confidential and secure. With permissions settings, team members can focus on data relevant to themselves, and management can trust that private data remains private. The permissions feature is accessible on the Pro plan.

There are four user roles in the permissions settings; admins, managers, team members, and viewers. Users can also be part of different groups within the team, to better organize what they should have access to.

All of these roles and the group a user belongs to can be set by admins in Settings > Manage your team.

Additionally, the scope of data that a user can view as well as create/edit/delete can also be set. These include team, own, group, and no data. Below is a breakdown of each role and data scope.

Roles

Admins: Admins are responsible for overseeing the team and configuring Salesflare. The admin role works well for people in charge of the team and/or the CRM - this can include your company’s leadership but also the people responsible for administering your CRM and its data.

Admins can:

  • Access all the team settings, including managing the team (inviting team members, assigning roles and groups), setting targets, configuring all existing pipelines, customizing fields, adapting the team’s regional settings, changing task settings, and setting these permissions.
  • Give anyone (including themselves) access to an account by adding that person to the account’s team.
  • Delete and change ownership of opportunities that they are not an owner of.
  • Access and edit the billing information.

No matter what further permission settings you set for admins, they will always have these built-in permissions.

By default admins have access to all team data, both when it comes to viewing and creating/editing/deleting, but this can be adapted in Settings > Set permissions.

Managers: Managers lead the group of users they’re part of. The groups can be set in Settings > Manage your team. This role works well for sales managers who oversee separate parts of the company’s sales team. For example, when working in different geographies or with different business units.

Managers can:

  • Give anyone access to an account by adding that person to the account’s team.
  • Delete and change ownership of opportunities that they’re not an owner of.
  • Access the settings to configure the group’s pipelines and set targets.

No matter what further permission settings you set for managers, they will always have these built-in permissions.

Team Members: Team members work in Salesflare, without the need to take care of administration or management. This type of role works well for your sales reps or your virtual assistant, if they don’t need to have full control over the CRM and its data.

Team Members can:

  • Only delete and change ownership of opportunities that they are the owner of.
  • Only delete accounts that they are a part of.

By default team members have access to all team data, both when it comes to viewing and creating/editing/deleting, but this can be changed in Settings > Set permissions. You can, for instance, make sure they can only view their group’s data and edit their own data.

Viewers: Viewers can only view (all of the team’s) data by default. They cannot create, edit, or delete any data. Both settings can be changed in Settings > Set permissions.

This type of role works well for board members, investors or high up executives who don’t actively work in Salesflare but need access to the data and/or insights.

Data

Admins have the ability to set which data their teammates can view as well as which data they can create, edit, and delete. As mentioned above, this is set in Settings > Set Permissions.

Own data: The data that is owned by you, usually because you’ve created it or you’re managing it.

  • Accounts you’re part of, accounts you’ve created, and accounts linked to an opportunity you’re the owner or assignee of.
  • Opportunities you’re the owner or assignee of, and opportunities linked to accounts you’re part of.
  • Contacts you’ve created and contacts linked to accounts you’re part of.
  • Workflows you’ve created.
  • Meetings you’ve created, meetings you’re a participant in, and meetings that are in accounts that you are part of.

Group data: The group data consists of the collection of data owned by the group’s individual members together (following the rules for “own data” above), for example in their location or business unit.

Team data: All data belonging to the team. This is the least restrictive data.

No data: This option is listed under the “Create, edit, and delete” dropdown only, creating the possibility to ensure that some users can only view data.

Pipelines

By default, all team members have access to all pipelines. Using the Permissions feature, admins and managers have the ability to determine which user groups can access which pipelines. This way their access can be restricted to only seeing the pipelines and opportunities they have to be able to see.

Admins and managers can define this in three places:

  1. in Settings > Set Permissions at the bottom (shown below)
  2. in Configure pipelines on each pipeline
  3. or in Settings > Manage your team on each user group.

If you don't see some of these settings or can't change them, that's because you're not an admin or manager. If that’s the case, it’s best to ask a colleague of yours who is to change it.

Admins can define the access to all pipelines, while managers can only define this access to pipelines their user group has access to.

Important things to note:

  • The Set Permissions page is viewable by everyone, but can only be edited by admins.
  • Users must ask an admin to assign them a certain role.
  • Users are only allowed one role and one group.
  • The default role for the first user on a team is admin, and for every next user is team member.
  • By default users are not assigned to a user group.
  • The user’s role and group can already be set when inviting new team members.

Have some more questions? Send us a chat! 😊

Did this answer your question?